Link Share: Readings for Late Winter

Cabbage White  Apples hanging on the tree in winter  Golden pothos

I feel like it’s going to be a good year for blogging.  I’ve been working on my A to Z posts, and I have many ideas planned for new blog posts to come in the following months.  And of course, it is not just me; many other bloggers have been writing excellent, thought-provoking posts lately.  For example:

Dana Driscoll recently published an excellent and timely post contemplating the ways in which snow and our negative reactions to it demonstrate many cultural issues and problems in society.

In recent years, it has been my perception that as the extreme weather events are increasing, so is the weeping, gnashing of teeth, and hatred towards the snow.  But it is not the snow to blame, but rather our underlying cultural issues that are exacerbated and intensified by the snow; we have a number of deep-rooted problems in society that are manifested by the appearance of snow.

I think that many of the issues she describes could be extrapolated to other weather events, but snow is a good example since it occurs over wide areas, happens every year, and is a normal event that plants and animals are typically well-adapted to – with the apparent exception of humans!  If you have ever found yourself complaining about the snow, read this post and you may very well end up with a different perspective on it.

Bo Mackison has written some interesting posts lately in which she explores the “essence of place” through photography.  In a recent post, she defines the essence of place (“a limited selection of photographs that, when combined, offer a unique glimpse into a place“) and presents some beautiful photos from the Palo Dura Canyon in Texas as an example.  I’ve long struggled with landscape photography, preferring to take close-up photos of flowers and butterflies instead, but when I’m next exploring a landscape with my camera, I’m sure that I’ll have this post in mind.  Bo’s “essence of place” is a unique and focused way to explore a  landscape with photography, and to come to a deeper understanding of and appreciation for that landscape.

(Her earlier examples from the San Pedro Riparian Area and the White Sands National Monument in the Chihuahuan Desert are also well-worth checking out, for the gorgeous photos if nothing else.)

My fellow blogger Alison recently shared a post from the blog The Girl Who Married A Bear, and I think this has now become one of my favourite blogs.  Milla has an understated writing style and her blog is filled with many photos that make me want to live where she does (on an island in coastal Washington state).  I especially like this post on “hidden places“, places where we go “to be alone, or at peace, to dream, or to get away“.  I think I’ve known a few places like that in my life (for example, a hill above campus that I often walked up to while in university), but I’ve never thought about them in quite this way.

One thing that caught my eye on Milla’s blog was the gorgeous Tarot cards that often appeared in her photos.  The deck is the Wild Unknown Tarot, and I love how simple but evocative the images are.  I already own two Tarot decks, but I might have to add this one as well.

Finally, I’ve recently updated the Links & Resources page on this blog.  The page was rather boring before, but now it lists my favourite blogs, fiction and non-fiction books, and websites, and is much more interesting.  I’ll keep adding to this page as I discover new things to read.

What are your favourite blogs?  What blogs do you love to read and do you think I might enjoy?

This entry was posted in Links and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Link Share: Readings for Late Winter

  1. Bo Mackison says:

    Heather, Thank you for blogging about my posts highlighting the “Essence of Place.” I find it a a fascinating way to explore landscape photography in a succinct, yet expansive way, and I truly appreciate your sharing. Hope you find it as satisfying as I do!

    • Heather says:

      And thank you very much for writing those posts, Bo! (And for all of your inspiring photos and posts…) Because of them, I am really looking forward to my next opportunity to take some landscape photos.

Leave a Reply

