Ads

I noticed, to my horror, that WordPress started running ads on my blog yesterday.  The ads are visible only on post pages, not on my home page, and they are not visible if you are signed into WordPress.  Wordpress states that, “we run these types of ads sparingly in an attempt to interfere as little as possible with the experience of reading a site.”  Wordpress also claims that, “you will probably never see an ad“, which makes me wonder how effective such ads actually are for WordPress if that is the case.

I was shocked to see the ads, because I have to confess that I had no idea WordPress even used ads, and I was troubled as well that WordPress did not notify me that the ads would be on my blog.  I find it a bit disturbing that material that I have no knowledge of can appear on my blog.  (Since the ads do not show to signed in users and since I’m always signed in when I view my blog, I actually had no idea the ads were even there until my mom pointed it out to me.)   Although this is a free blog, I would have appreciated being made more aware of what was going on.

WordPress does offer an upgrade that removes the ads for a yearly fee, but if I was going to do that, I think I’d prefer to shell out a bit more for a custom domain and custom design as well, which is the way I do want to go with this blog eventually.

If you have any thoughts on any of these issues, I’d appreciate hearing from you, especially if you’re a WordPress user, but for now, my main objective is to reassure you that, if you have seen ads on my blog, I do not support them in any way, and I am not receiving any monetary compensation for them.  And I hope the ads are not here to stay.

This entry was posted in Miscellaneous and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Ads

  1. Marilyn says:

    Sadly, this has been going on for awhile. Since I “tweet” and post Facebook links to my posts, the ads are seen regularly. And on occasion, they are at counter-purposes to my content and philosophies. Now that you’ve got me thinking about this again, I think I will post a disclaimer on my blog sidebar, noting that I have NOTHING to do with the ads that appear at the bottom of individual post pages.

  2. Millie says:

    I can’t say I’ve ever noticed them, but then I’m usually logged in. I have to say though, on the whole I find ads on blogs very irritating, unless they’re in the sidebar and selected by the blogger. I hate the Adsense type ads that just run whatever!

    I host my blog on my own domain so I use WordPress.org and don’t have any ads. I use JustHost, and in total I think I pay £20 a year for the URL and server. It’s dead cheap!

    • Heather says:

      I actually have been doing some researching into hosting and all that, and I’m pretty sure that I’m going to be moving to WordPress.org and self-hosting at some point in the near future – I just have to get a few things straightened out.

      Ads really do just drive me crazy as well, especially the random ones that aren’t really connected to the content of the blog.

Leave a Reply

